When Night Is Falling - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When Night Is Falling Reviews

Page 2 of 11
September 8, 2010
This movie was my first lesbian flick. It was just beautiful.
September 1, 2010
Mills and Boon for girls.
April 13, 2010
love to watch lesbian movies
March 31, 2010
Movies beautiful ..... Thank you
February 15, 2010
A visually stunning movie that plays out in an unpredictable, beautiful, well filmed style. The sense of the extra ordinary is portrayed in almost every ordinary occurrence within the film. It has a magical timeless feel to it that just captivates you from the word GO!

The music is exquisite, especially the deep cello that adds atmosphere to the entire movie.

This was also one of the first lesbian movies I watched where one or both of the main characters doesn't end up killing herself, being killed, going straight or any other grotty ending!

I'll grant I can't give it a 100% because there are small and odd flaws in it that you can't help but notice. (Like at the end when you wonder to yourself, now is the dog alive again or is this the beginning of a zombie movie?)

All in all though it is a feast for the eyes, the ears and the brain! Watch it and marvel.
January 24, 2010
I went to the same Christian university as Rozema and I love how she depicts people in those environments.
½ January 17, 2010
I actually found this movie rather disappointing given the number of five star ratings it had received from otherwise trusted fellow-movie watchers and reviewers.
I found the acting ordinary, the chemistry non-existent, though Petra's seduction of Camille was intriguing and enjoyable. The cinematography was pedestrian and the music intrusive.
The storyline itself was fine - I just think it could have been performed and filmed better. Although regarding the storyline, for a romance movie there was precious little, well, romance. The only saving aspects were the sensual love scenes, yes and the lobby kiss too, and the circus performers.
½ December 9, 2009
Cliched to hell and back. Arty farty shite.
October 31, 2009
what is watech is the film?
October 11, 2009
i sooooo want to see this
October 3, 2009
My favorite lesbian romance film.
September 18, 2009
OMG, I love this movie!!!
½ July 30, 2009
Beautifully acted Lesbian love story..:)
½ July 9, 2009
Love this movie. Beautiful Romantic Irony. Girl Sees the Light and is Saved from her Conservative Christian Lifestyle, joins the Circus and finds Love in the Arms of Another Woman.
July 3, 2009
I stumbled across this movie by accident. I watched it and fell in love with it and not because of the lesbian thing, the story was rich and it touched me. Awesome movie, I'll add it to my collection if I can find it."
June 12, 2009
good film, great ending
May 1, 2009
simply my all time favorite story!!
Super Reviewer
April 28, 2009
A beautiful and touching film from Patricia Rozema and one of my favourite Canadian films.

What makes it a classic however is the epic performance of Tom Melissis as Hang Glider #2.
April 24, 2009
For many years was my favourite lesbian film for its romanicism in every sense. Interestingly words for sexual identity are never used. Loved the acceptance of the Bohemian world and the inclusion of dreams. This beautiful movie gives yet another reason to want to run away with the circus!
Page 2 of 11