Without Warning (It Came Without Warning) (Alien Encounters) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Without Warning (It Came Without Warning) (Alien Encounters) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 19, 2017
A bad/good movie with two oscars winners...believe or not!
November 28, 2016
muy poco se mostró el alien, los efectos muy malos.
July 28, 2015
Great movie, especially for a low budget 80s classic. It wasn't overwhelmingly disappointing either. The acting was good, and there was a couple creepy scenes during the abandoned house and the psycho police car stalking (on the bridge). Very cool. I wouldn't go out and buy it, nor would I turn it down if I was offered a copy.
½ March 30, 2015
I'd be surprised if this movie didn't inspire Predator. This is much better, in my opinion.
December 31, 2014
An alright creature movie that has some creative gore, though a little cheesy, and a cool alien/monster.
The little weird creature Frisbees the creature throws were kind of cool.
½ December 6, 2014
Jack Palance and Martin Landau are great. They put a lot into this (what would otherwise be) terrible slasher b-movie. The interesting thing is how this movie pre-dates Predator and is a very similar type of premise of an alien hunting humans for game.

There is some legitimately creepy atmosphere and shots in this movie. The bar scene is reminiscent of something from The Thing with the patrons paranoid after the power is cut. The scene near the end where we catch a quick cut of the alien is genuinely creepy and the alien (while kind of goofy and generic) costume is surprisingly well made. The movie has some pretty good, tense moments and isn't a generic Friday the 13th type of slasher with teens at a lake.

The problem is that the movie was going at a pretty good pace, and halfway through we were at the bar scene and I was excited to see where the movie would be going with Jack Palance and Martin Landau on screen. The get plenty of screen time in the movie, but about 45 minutes into the movie it shifts focus to the two teen leads who simply aren't very good actors. The movie almost even comes to a complete halt when they decide to stay at an empty house. It ends on a good note, but those two characters were so bad I almost wanted to stop watching.

Otherwise, this is a surprisingly good alien horror movie with two Oscar winning actors getting plenty of screen time. Well worth checking out for fans of alien horror.
½ October 19, 2014
C grade precursor to predator with less action.
October 11, 2014
Without Warning (AKA It Came... Without Warning, AKA Alien Shock) is a sci-fi/horror movie that was lost to 80's obscurity until recently when it was rescued by Shout! Factory and released on Blu-ray. It had never been released on home video before on any format, which is more of a reason to celebrate. Having a lost film, especially one of its type, was a big deal to horror movie fans. Truth be told, it's not some long, lost diamond in the rough. It's more like a shiny pebble in a dirty creek. It features Jack Palance and Martin Landau, and the story is about what you would expect: an alien comes to earth and is killing people for sport. Yes, this sounds a lot like Predator, but is nowhere near as effective or as good. However, it's not an absurd pile of junk either. It has some nice effects (as well as some charming and cheesy ones), but the story and the outcome leave a little to be desired. I'm happy that it now exists on home video since it hadn't at all previously, but I doubt I'll be watching it very much.
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
August 8, 2014
Without Warning is a terrific low budget sci fi horror film that was the precursor to Predator, and for what it is, it's a well made effort, one that will certainly delight horror hounds, and I won't Predator is better, as I believe that both films are wonderful pieces of horror in their own right. The gore are very well done, and this one of those obscured cult classics that should be rediscovered by fans as there is enough here to make this a worthwhile film going experience for viewers that enjoy a good, low budget horror picture. The film has its limitation of course, but what stands out here is that the filmmakers were able to pull off something quite good despite budgetary constraints and this is an effective chiller that is pure camp value, and a definite good time for viewers that enjoy forgotten gems. Without Warning is fairly simple in its concept, but what stands out here is the way that director Greydon Clark is able to pull so much using so little, and in a way that's the best way to craft a solid horror movie, keeping things simple in order to get your audience really into it. That approach worked well with this film, and it's a superb low budget cult horror film that I very much enjoyed. If you want a simple, yet engaging horror yarn, Without Warning is a standout feature for horror viewers that want something fun, gory and highly entertaining. Without Warning is a film that should be rediscovered, and to those that haven't seen it, be prepared for a riveting film that is well worth your time.
½ May 17, 2014
A poorly shot, pretty laughable b-movie that was the inspiration behind one of the best action movies of the last century. Remade as "Predator" this low budget movie also stars an alien hunter, but it has no arnies and the creature's weapon of choice are some flying leech discs that attach to people and burrow in. The effects are laughably bad (and not even in a good way) but the movie is well worth the watch becasue of the cast. The great Kevin Peter Hall plays the alien and went on to play the Predator. David Caruso makes one of his early screen appearances as annoying 'teenager' who gets killed off early. But the real WTF is in the casting and considerable screen time that Jack Palance and Martin Landau, two proper, well respected actors who play their heart out in this b-movie guff.

Without Warning might not be a masterpiece but it is an important piece of cinematic history. Watch it.
½ January 21, 2014
An immensely enjoyable early 80's low-budget sci-fi/horror winner--We Ain't Alone!!
April 27, 2013
There's a fair amount to talent involved in this film, with Jack Palance, Martin Landau, Ralph Meeker, and frequent John Carpenter and Steven Spielberg collaborator Dean Cundy doing the photography. There's also a fair number of notable character actors and genre regulars in the film too, including Cameron Mitchell, Neville Brand, Larry Storch, and a even young David Caruso. However, this story of an alien hunting humans for sport is pretty bad, especially the first half of the film. The second half significantly improves once Palance, Meeker and Landau show up and take over the film as a bunch of old coots looking to fight the alien. These Hollywood veterans are fully aware of the type of film they are in and smartly decide to camp-up the film with some terrifically hammy performances. It's certainly not a good film and it's only worth watching for camp value, but it really is one of those films that is so-bad-it's-good. And an interesting bit of trivia, the actor who plays the alien, Kevin Peter Hall, later went on to play a much more iconic alien in both "Predator" and "Predator 2."
October 10, 2012
Här har vi filmen som lär ha stått som inspiration till Predator. Därtill är skådisen som spelar den utomjordiske jägaren i denna film, Kevin Peter Hall, även mannen under Predator-dräkten. Without Warning utspelar sig i mer nordliga, amerikanska skogar, där folk dör som flugor när en frisbee-kastande alien går bärsärk i jakt på mänskliga troféer. Filmens första halva är tidsenligt blek och seg, men när vissa Motorsågsmassakern-tendenser börjar smyga sig in förvandlas den så småningom till en ganska ruggig historia. Håll förresten utkik efter en snuskigt ung och oattraktiv David Caruso i filmens inledning!
April 5, 2012
its predator....before predator!

that said, this isnt very good. it manages an atmosphere but its cheap quality ruins it. the acting is semi decent from a majority of the cast. the 4 teens are playn well enough except for the main male character. his performance was one of the weakest.

the alien is rather silly looking and standard.

the film is also slow getting in. it takes about half an hour to be a little intriguing but then it lost me somewhere till the guy got attacked in the face. things picked uo pretty quickly.

the effects of the aliens weird disc things was actually very well done and the blood was pretty disturbing.

the ending explosion was also pretty cool as well.

worth a watch if your into bad movies. on youtube.
February 11, 2012
its predator....before predator!

that said, this isnt very good. it manages an atmosphere but its cheap quality ruins it. the acting is semi decent from a majority of the cast. the 4 teens are playn well enough except for the main male character. his performance was one of the weakest.

the alien is rather silly looking and standard.

the film is also slow getting in. it takes about half an hour to be a little intriguing but then it lost me somewhere till the guy got attacked in the face. things picked uo pretty quickly.

the effects of the aliens weird disc things was actually very well done and the blood was pretty disturbing.

the ending explosion was also pretty cool as well.

worth a watch if your into bad movies. on youtube.
November 2, 2011
Without Warning, had some chilling moments and some great special effects for its time. Sadly, this film no longer holds the same effect.
½ July 9, 2011
Without Warning is one of the best sci-fi horror films I've seen in a long time. It's everything you would want in a movie like this: It's got great creature and make-up effects, a frightening alien (that looks a lot like Megamind), good acting (especially by Jack Palance and Martin Landau), and tense scenes. The flying leeches are probably the coolest blood-sucking aliens ever to grace the silver screen, and while the alien hunting humans IS pretty silly, its reveal is so creepy, he earns my respect. The plot is obviously the basis for the Predator films (alien hunting humans for sport) and the alien is even played by the guy who portrayed the Predator (Kevin Peter Hall). Without Warning has yet to have a DVD release (or a VHS release), and this really ticks me off. Complete garbage like Mother of Tears, Halloween II (the Rob Zombie one), Unhinged, and more get great DVD and maybe Blu-Ray releases, while fantastic stuff like Without Warning, Ghost Town (1988), Ninja III: The Domination, The Keep, and more are left in VHS purgatory! This is utter nonsense and needs to stop.
April 25, 2011
A stupendously squishy, slimey, gooey, yucky, squirty piece of celluloid (By the way, these are good things!!), the original "Predator" , released way before that film, with a similar plot--the only difference is the setting, & the lack of a military framing device. Even the same actor (The late, great Kevin Peter Hall-) essayed the two killer-critters!! The alien in question is a marvelous creation--extremely tall & gaunt, with a large, oval head, insect-like, multi-faceted eyes, nastily-toothy grin, & a severely piss-poor, misanthropic attitude!! He hunts his quarry (Us!) by slinging little tentacled, gut-sucking, flying pizza-frisbees with mouths that look like a lamprey's with gingivitis! That's where the buckets of gore come in; the scenes featuring these sloppy, teeth-gnashing little buggers revel in unsubtle excess, and are trotted out repeatedly throughout the film. Oscar-winners Jack Palance & Martin Landau chew the scenery with obvious relish (More relish on my victim, please!!), & the lead teens are likable. Goofy Larry Storch as an obtuse scoutmaster and horror vet Cameron Mitchell have throwaway roles as alien fodder, and also look for a young David Caruso in a small (Early victim-) role.
Page 1 of 2