Downton Abbey - Rotten Tomatoes

Downton Abbey (2011 - 2016)

Downton Abbey (2011 - 2016)





Critic Consensus: No consensus yet.

Series Info

Period drama set in the English countryside, centered on the lives of the artistocratic Crawley family and their hierarchy of servants.
Creator: Julian Fellowes

Downton Abbey Videos

Downton Abbey Photos


Critics Consensus: Melodramatic characters and soapy class struggles continue to keep Downton Abbey compelling as this celebrated series approaches its grand finale.

2016, INGTV, 9 episodes

Critics Consensus: Though it's becoming increasingly soapy, Downton Abbey is still a beautiful show whose characters confront the ever-modernizing world with wit and style.

2015, INGTV, 9 episodes

Critics Consensus: Though its cast remains strong, Downton Abbey's fourth season is a bit of a comedown after the multiple story arcs that challenged viewers in past seasons.

2014, INGTV, 8 episodes

Critics Consensus: In its third season, Downton Abbey remains a gripping, fascinating look at 1920s England, though its melodramatic plotting occasionally veers into less satisfying territory.

2013, INGTV, 7 episodes

Critics Consensus: With its excellent cast and resplendent period trappings, Downton Abbey continues to weave a bewitching, ingratiating spell.

2012, INGTV, 7 episodes

Critics Consensus: Downton Abbey transcends its soapy plotting with witty dialogue, lavish costumes and sets, and an outstanding cast.

2011, INGTV, 4 episodes


Hugh Bonneville
as Lord Grantham, Robert Crawley, Earl of Grantham
Jessica Brown Findlay
as Lady Sybil Crawley
Laura Carmichael
as Lady Edith, Lady Edith Crawley
Jim Carter
as Carson, Mr. Carson
Brendan Coyle
as John Bates
Michelle Dockery
as Lady Mary, Lady Mary Crawley
Kevin Doyle
as Joseph Molesley
Siobhan Finneran
as O'Brien, Sarah O'Brien
Joanne Froggatt
as Anna, Anna Bates
Thomas Howes
as William Mason
Lily James
as Lady Rose MacClare
Rob James-Collier
as Thomas, Thomas Barrow
Allen Leech
as Tom Branson
Phyllis Logan
as Mrs Hughes, Mrs. Hughes
Elizabeth McGovern
as Cora Crawley, Countess of Grantham, Lady Grantham
Sophie McShera
as Daisy, Daisy Mason
Matt Milne
as Alfred Nugent
Lesley Nicol
as Mrs Patmore, Mrs. Patmore
Amy Nuttall
as Ethel Parks
David Robb
as Dr. Clarkson
Maggie Smith
as Violet Crawley, Violet Crawley, Dowager Countess of Grantham
Ed Speleers
as Jimmy Kent
Dan Stevens
as Matthew Crawley
Cara Theobold
as Ivy Stuart
Penelope Wilton
as Isobel Crawley
Tom Cullen
as Anthony Gillingham
Julien Ovenden
as Charles Blake
Samantha Bond
as Lady Rosamund Painswick
Sue Johnston
as Sue Johnston
Douglas Reith
as Lord Merton
Matthew Goode
as Henry Talbot
Harry Hadden-Paton
as Herbert "Bertie" Pelham
Zoe Boyle
as Lavinia Swire
Shirley MacLaine
as Martha Levinson
Paul Copley
as Mr. Mason
Iain Glen
as Sir Richard Carlisle
Jim Carter
as Mr. Carson
Julian Ovenden
as Charles Blake
Howard Ward
as Sgt. Willis
Cal Macaninch
as Henry Lang
Robert Bathurst
as Sir Anthony Strallan
Patrick Brennan
as Headmaster
Emma Lowndes
as Mrs. Margie Drewe
Daisy Lewis
as Sarah Bunting
Helen Sheals
as Postmaster's Wife
Jonathan Coy
as George Murray
Rade Serbedzija
as Prince Kuragin
Bernard Gallagher
as Bill Molesley
Charlie Cox
as Duke of Crowborough
Brendan Patricks
as Evelyn Napier
Matt Barber
as Atticus Aldridge
Matt Barber
as Atticus Aldridge
Sebastian Dunn
as Charlie Rogers
Sebastian Dunn
as Charlie Rogers
MyAnna Buring
as Edna Braithwaite
Charles Edwards
as Michael Gregson
Brendan Patrick
as Evelyn Napier
Antonia Bernath
as Laura Edmunds
Phoebe Sparrow
as Amelia Cruikshank
Gary Carr
as Jack Ross
Michael Cochrane
as Rev. Travis
Richard E. Grant
as Simon Bricker
Harriet Walter
as Lady Shackleton
Catherine Steadman
as Mabel Lane Fox
Peter Egan
as Hugh "Shrimpie" MacClare, Marquess of Flintshire
Catherine Balavage
as Suffragette
Theo James
as Kemal Pamuk
Penny Downie
as Lady Sinderby
James Faulkner
as Lord Sinderby
Louis Hilyer
as Insp. Vyne
Fergus O'Donnell
as John Drake
Cathy Sara
as Mrs. Drake
Christopher Rozycki
as Count Rostov
Patrick Kennedy
as Terence Sampson
Paul Giamatti
as Harold Levinson
Joncie Elmore
as John Pegg
Paul Putner
as Mr. Skinner
Andrew Alexander
as Sir John Bullock
Joanna David
as Duchess of Yeovil
Devon Black
as Receptionist
Alastair Bruce
as Lord Chamberlain
Phoebe Nicholls
as Susan MacClare, Marchioness of Flintshire
Sharon Small
as Marigold Shore
Charlie Anson
as Larry Grey
Philip Battley
as John Harding
Nichola Burley
as Rita Bevan
Martin Walsh
as Mr. Finch
Augusta Woods
as Hotel Maid
Mark Morrell
as Mr. Fairclough
Tim Pigott-Smith
as Sir Philip Tapsell
Di Botcher
as Nanny West
Ronald Pickup
as Sir Michael Reresby
Oliver Dimsdale
as Prince of Wales
Nigel Havers
as Lord Hepworth
Michael Benz
as Ethan Slade
Charlotte Hamblin
as Lady Anne Acland
Kevin McNally
as Mr. Bryant
James Fox
as Lord Aysgarth
Dominic Kemp
as Jury Foreman
Rupert Frazer
as Neville Chamberlain
Nicky Henson
as Charles Grigg
Simon Lowe
as Maître d'
Simon Poland
as Defense Attorney
Yves Aubert
as Arsene Avignon
Neil Bell
as Durrant
Christine Lohr
as Mrs. Bird
Kieran Hodgson
as First Student
Christine Mackie
as Mrs. Bryant
Tony Pritchard
as Prison Guard
Janet Montgomery
as Freda Dudley Ward
Stephen Critchlow
as John Ward, MP
Adrian Lukis
as Sir John Darnley
Trevor Cooper
as Mr. Glover
John Henshaw
as Jos Tufton
Spencer Cowan
as Second Student
Hannah Wood
as Brancaster Kitchen Maid
Nick Sampson
as Prosecutor
Rick Bacon
as Mr. Henderson
Kiri Te Kanawa
as Dame Nellie Melba
Naomi Radcliffe
as Mrs. Elcot
Jane Lapotaire
as Princess Irina
Ron Donachie
as Mr. McCree
Patricia Hodge
as Mrs. Pelham
Nicholas Lumley
as Auctioneer
Ian Marr
as Abbey Visitor
Jonathan Howard
as Sam Thawley
Alex McNally
as Cab Driver
Clare Higgins
as Mrs. Bartlett
Joshua Richards
as Stall Holder
Anna Chancellor
as Lady Anstruther
Ben Bradshaw
as Chemist
Louise Calf
as Kitty Colthurst
John Voce
as Photographer
James Greene
as Sir Mark Stiles
James Joyce
as Dinner Guest
Shaun Hennessy
as Tug-of-War Judge
Philip Scott-Wallace
as Stage Door Keeper
William Travis
as Stall Keeper
Alice Patten
as Diana Clark
Nicky Bell
as Tough Man at Dance
Sophie Cosson
as Prostitute
Sarah Crowden
as Lady Manville
Poppy Drayton
as Madeleine Allsopp
Darren Machin
as Basil Shute
Guy Williams
as King George V
View All

Discussion Forum

Discuss Downton Abbey on our TV talk forum!