Newhart - Rotten Tomatoes

Newhart (1982 - 1990)

Newhart (1982 - 1990)





Critic Consensus: No consensus yet.

Series Info

The comedian brings his trademark gentle humor to his role as a Vermont innkeeper in this affable, long-running series, which premiered four years after his six-year stint with 'The Bob Newhart Show.'The eccentric supporting characters include a dim-witted handyman; a pretentious debutante maid; and three backwoods brothers named Larry, Darryl and Darryl (the Darryls never spoke). The final episode, in which a Japanese businessman buys the town, has a classic surprise ending.

Newhart Photos


No Tomatometer score yet...

1989, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1988, CBS, 22 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1987, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1986, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1985, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1984, CBS, 22 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1983, CBS, 22 episodes

Critics Consensus: Bob Newhart's return to television is shorn down to the point of almost entirely relying on the comedian's dry wit -- which he reliably delivers with hesitant aplomb.

1982, CBS, 22 episodes


Bob Newhart
as Dick Loudon
Mary Frann
as Joanna Loudon
Tom Poston
as George Utley
Steven Kampmann
as Kirk Devane
Jennifer Holmes
as Leslie Vanderkellen
Julia Duffy
as Stephanie Vanderkellen
Tony Papenfuss
as First Darryl
John Voldstad
as Second Darryl
Rebecca York
as Cindy Parker Devane
Peter Scolari
as Michael Harris
Lee Wilkof
as Elliot Gabler
Todd Susman
as Constable
Kathy Kinney
as Miss Goddard
Priscilla Morrill
as Mrs. Vanderkellen
Jeff Doucette
as Harley Estin
Melanie Chartoff
as Dr. Kaiser
José Ferrer
as Vanderkellen
Raye Birk
as How-To Author
Richard Venture
as Doc Owens
Ruth Gordon
as Kirk's Grandmother
Derek McGrath
as Waiter No. 1
George Wyner
as Emmett Devore
Simon Jones
as Dr. Randall
Keith Charles
as Heartlob
J.J. Wall
as Unbelievable Jerry
Marilyn Schreffler
as Gloria Tate
George D. Wallace
as Mr. McKenna
Douglas Rowe
as Bennett
Robert Hogan
as Senator
Bruce French
as Ned Tate
Larry Hankin
as Wild Mel
Michael Fairman
as Sen. Wells
Jason Marin
as Young George
Bill Wiley
as Dr. Bishop
Bob Perlow
as Mr. Burrows
Chip Zien
as Jenkins
James Hampton
as Father Ken
Gedde Watanabe
as Tagadachi
Tobias Andersen
as Selectman
Jim Jansen
as Father Wilson
Bill Maher
as Norm Murphy
Dirk Blocker
as Little Duke
Claudette Sutherland
as Prof. Stewart
Kate Zentall
as Mrs. Burrows
Richard Roat
as Vanderkellen
Jackie Joseph
as Myrna Peck
John Reilly
as Cameron
Eve Roberts
as Fran Taylor
Don Rickles
as Don Prince
Edwina Moore
as Pastry-Club Member
Magda Harout
as Beatrice/`Smitty'
David Muir
as Delivery Man
K Callan
as Janet
Anne Gee Byrd
as Mrs. Vosper
Susan Blu
as Mrs. Layborn
James Staley
as Patrick
Greg Otto
as The Amazing Duane
Patricia Estrin
as Mrs. Nelson
Gerald Hiken
as Dimitri Alexandrov
H. Richard Greene
as Network Exec
Marilyn Allen
as Mrs. Futterman
Roderick Cook
as TV Critic
Jack Kehler
as Tommy Lee
George Petrie
as Father Jasper
Tim Conway
as Himself
Bill Quinn
as Minister
Peggy McCay
as Mrs. McKenna
Britt Leach
as Jocko Braverman
Peter Hobbs
as Doc Wiley
Edwin Newman
as Himself
Jack Taylor
as Tommy Lee
George Innes
as Regis Drayman
David Wayne
as Pirate Pete
Earl Boen
as Dodds
Helen Page Camp
as Station Receptionist
Tom Byrd
as Robert
Jan Pessano
as Phyllis
Don Knotts
as Himself
Jane Alden
as Waitress
David Selburg
as Maitre d'
Craig Zehms
as Prosecutor Scheff
John Hostetter
as Mr. Futterman
Frances Bay
as Mrs. Henderson
Tom Virtue
as Father John
Sab Shimono
as Sunatra
Milt Oberman
as Mr. Sylvester
Perry Wolfe
as Player No. 1
Lynne Marie Stewart
as Woman Reporter
Curt Lowens
as Charles
Bob Elliott
as Dick's Dad
Lou Cutell
as Dr. Grossman
Roy London
as Mr. Carlson
Hansford Rowe
as Mr. Feifer
Guy Boyd
as Col. Lloyd Menninger
Jack Bannon
as Franklin Todd
Ruth Manning
as Michael's Mother
Ian Fried
as Timmy
Paul Feig
as Bruce
Ed McMahon
as Himself
Molly Regan
as Mrs. Collins
Kenneth Kimmins
as Mr. Putnam
Richard Seff
as Mr. Woodall
Teresa Ganzel
as Waitress
Dorothy Patterson
as Mrs. Kimmel
Barbara Tarbuck
as Ms. Fletcher
Ben Slack
as Mr. Hanson
Brad Logan
as Al `Sweaty' Whitlow
David Sage
as Mr. Carstairs
Terry Beaver
as Foreman
R. Leo Schreiber
as Unfortunate No. 1
Barbara Collentine
as Mrs. Feifer
Mary Betten
as Mrs. Davison
Tom Ormeny
as Anchor Man
Tony Jay
as Nobleman
Candy Hutson
as Baby Stephanie
Michael Horton
as John Paine
Lindsay Price
as Jennifer
Emma Samms
as Herself
Kort Falkenberg
as Henderson
Joan Embery
as Herself
Merv Griffin
as Himself
Gene Ross
as Lennie
Bill Daily
as Inn Guest
Brian Kimball
as Unfortunate No. 2
Charlotte Carpenter
as Weather Lady
View All

Series Details

TV Network: CBS
Premiere Date: Oct 25, 1982
Genre: Comedy
Executive Producer: Barry Kemp
Full Cast
Related News & Interviews

News & Interviews for Newhart

Discussion Forum

Discuss Newhart on our TV talk forum!