Staged: Series 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Staged: Series 1 Reviews

March 29, 2021
Affable shutdown comedy features profanity, sexual innuendo.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 22, 2021
It turns out that Tennant is funny, rueful, quick-witted, a bit of a slob and also just a bit insecure and self-centered-as are all great actors.
December 29, 2020
There are just enough references to the actual pandemic to keep "Staged" from being pure fantasy, but it's hilarious, endearing and all very resonant, especially for those of us lucky enough to work from home.
July 15, 2020
The problem I have are moments when Tennant and Sheen are not together. It gets overly-complicated with the introduction of all the other characters and sort of loses its way a little bit.
July 8, 2020
The bite-sized length of the episodes fit perfectly into a captivatingly, over-exaggerated delve into the lives of the precious actor and most importantly a riotous friendship.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
June 17, 2020
At points it can seem a bit, well, staged. But it is nevertheless charming: absurdly silly in a quiet, understated way.
June 15, 2020
Pure joy -- that is, a pure, pure joy and, quite possibly, heaven -- is the new comedy series, Staged. So funny. So so soooooo funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 15, 2020
Staged has a writer's credit but you imagine there's some improvisation involved. And the feeling of creeping madness is one we can all share, even if we haven't been acclaimed for our Hamlets like these two.
June 15, 2020
Staged will no doubt be a hit, its bitesize-chunks formula winningly combined with Tennant and Sheen's easy, witty banter and insights into lockdown life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 15, 2020
It did sometimes drift into self-indulgence and on occasion the self-congratulation did not feel entirely faux. However, it was a good idea, two furloughed celebrated actors becoming increasingly angsty and hairy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 15, 2020
It is grand fun, even if slight, although I suspect that the good friends Sheen and Tennant are, no matter how inadvertently, auditioning even in lockdown for the next series of The Trip.
June 15, 2020
It's all a bit meta, but that's the joy of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 15, 2020
Sheen and Tennant shared a warmth and willingness to take the mickey out of each other that felt entirely unforced.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 12, 2020
For now... it's a welcome distraction, an eminently watchable portrait of two artists as petulant, egotistical children.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 15, 2020
Forty minutes of this would have been excruciating. Even 15 feels too long, but I don't know if that's because lockdown has ruined my attention span or if the show is a bit too thespy for its own good.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5