The Mary Tyler Moore Show - Rotten Tomatoes

The Mary Tyler Moore Show (1970 - 1977)

The Mary Tyler Moore Show (1970 - 1977)






Critic Consensus: No consensus yet.

Series Info

One of the medium's most beloved, sharply written and performed sitcoms, about the newswoman who could turn the world on with her smile. A winner of nearly 30 Emmys over its seven years, it consistently produced witty, sophisticated episodes, including the celebrated `Chuckles Bites the Dust,' which was No. 1 in TV Guide's ranking of the `100 Greatest Episodes of All Time.' Members of the extraordinary ensemble cast moved on to three spin-off series: `Lou Grant,' `Phyllis' and `Rhoda.'

The Mary Tyler Moore Show Photos


No Tomatometer score yet...

1976, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1975, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1974, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1973, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1972, CBS, 24 episodes

No Tomatometer score yet...

1971, CBS, 24 episodes

Critics Consensus: An exceptional ensemble and a smart sense of humor suggest The Mary Tyler Moore Show and its titular star may just make it after all.

1970, CBS, 24 episodes


Mary Tyler Moore
as Mary Richards
Edward Asner
as Lou Grant
Ted Knight
as Ted Baxter
Gavin MacLeod
as Murray Slaughter
Valerie Harper
as Rhoda Morgenstern
Cloris Leachman
as Phyllis Lindstrom
Lisa Gerritsen
as Bess Lindstrom
John Amos
as Gordy Howard
Joyce Bulifant
as Marie Slaughter
Georgia Engel
as Georgette Franklin Baxter
Betty White
as Sue Ann Nivens
Robbie Rist
as David Baxter
Nancy Walker
as Ida Morgenstern
Jack Manning
as Maitre d'
John Gabriel
as Andy Grissom
Bill Quinn
as Walter Richards
Sheree North
as Charlene
Harold Gould
as Martin Morgenstern
David Hayward (II)
as Mailroom Boy
Irene Tedrow
as Mrs. Geddes
Mary Frann
as Joanne
Henry Corden
as Mr. Hartunian
Steve Franken
as Jonas Lasser
Gloria Lord
as Waitress
Florida Friebus
as Mrs. Marshall
T.J. Castronovo
as Moving Man
Jerry Van Dyke
as Wes Callison
Nanette Fabray
as Dottie Richards
Gordon Jump
as Judy's Dad
Jon Locke
as Turner
Jack Bender
as Michael Lee
Bradford Dillman
as Matt Bryan
Murray Korda
as Violinist
Patte Finley
as Sparkle
Dick Gautier
as Cavanaugh
Ron Rifkin
as Schroeder
William Bogert
as Psychologist
Paul Sand
as Robert C. Brand
Brad Trumbull
as Mitchell
Dave Roberts
as Man in Audience
Michael Bell
as Fireman
Bob Duggan
as Clock Man
Arthur Abelson
as Attendant
Robert Casper
as Anesthesiologist
Isabel Sanford
as Mrs. Wilson
Mary Kay Place
as Sally Jo Hotchkiss
Tammi Bula
as Bonnie Slaughter
Doris Roberts
as Helen Farrell
Janis Paige
as Charlene
Wally Taylor
as Walter Ellis
Philllippa Harris
as Woman from Audience
Vic Tayback
as Officer Jackson
Louise Lasser
as Anne Adams
Liam Dunn
as Mr. Baxter
Shirley O'Hara
as Mrs. Malone
Michael Higa
as Le Chan
Richard Balin
as Producer
Betty Ford
as Herself
Edward Winter
as Brian Nordquist
Caren Kaye
as B.J. Smathers
Richard Seff
as Captain
Pat Finley
as Twinks
Jed Allan
as Rod Porter
Lurene Tuttle
as Bella Swann
Titos Vandis
as Lazlo Kralic
James Luisi
as Doug Kellum
Ned Glass
as Norris Bender
Bill Dearth
as Bellhop
Monte Markham
as John Corcoran
Pippa Scott
as Estelle
Henry Winkler
as Steve Waldman
Ed Flanders
as Father Brian
Trisha Noble
as Whitney
Peter Haskell
as Mark Williams
Darrell Zwerling
as Mr. Charney
Gail Strickland
as Sister Ann
Alan Manson
as Psychiatrist
Joan Tompkins
as Mrs. Thorn
George Conrad
as Bartender
Paul Lichtman
as Irv Gevins
Lois Walden
as Receptionist
David White
as Mr. Cobb
Jane Connell
as Mrs. Norris
Bill Fiore
as Kerssen
Bob Dishy
as Officer Tully
Lynn Wood
as Nurse
Jack Cassidy
as Hal Baxter
Kermit Murdock
as Vandermast
Bo Kaprall
as Lowell
Herbie Faye
as Cleaning Man
John Holland
as Caldwell
Barry Coe
as Steve
Dabney Coleman
as Phil Wright
Ford Rainey
as Dr. Rainey
Ted Lehmann
as Janitor
Bill Woodson
as Big Voiced Man
Lois Nettleton
as Barbara Coleman
Elayne Heilveil
as Salesgirl
Jerry Fogel
as Dr. Carter
Lew Ayres
as Doug Slaughter
Lou Cutell
as Nice Little Man
Richard Masur
as Bob Larson
David Groh
as Joe Gerard
Ivor Francis
as Father Flint
Dick Clair
as Freelander
Slim Pickens
as Wild Jack Munroe
Meg Wyllie
as Eve Bayless
Leonard Frey
as Lawrence
John Ritter
as Rev. Chatfield
Dort Clark
as Army Buddy
Rudy De Luca
as Nightclub Manager
Julie Rogers
as Waitress
David Frescoe
as Phil Kramer
Claude Stroud
as Landlord
Harvey Vernon
as Xerox Repairman
Richard Kline
as Prosecutor
Eric Braeden
as Karl Heller
Mavis Neal
as Mrs. Cobb
Mary Jackson
as Mrs. Arnell
Anthony Holland
as Mel Peters
Peter Hobbs
as Bartender
Shelley Berman
as Dr. Udall
Wes Stern
as Allen Stevens
Bert Mustin
as Old Man
Pat Carroll
as Loretta Khune
Val Bisoglio
as Mr. DeForest
Marilyn Roberts
as Mrs. Green
as Celestine
Pat Gaynor
as Award Presenter
Jon Lormer
as Ronny Williams
Mimi Kirk
as Phone Girl
Helen Hunt
as Laurie
Sid Clute
as Everett Edwards
Norman Bartold
as Alan Marsh
Bartine Burkett
as Aunt Helen
Vincent Gardenia
as Frank Coleman
James McCallion
as Ed Sprinkle
Cathy Baco
as Waitress 2
John Fox
as Bowler
Dean Santoro
as Phil Howard
Richard Libertini
as Big Chicken
Robert Rothwell
as Floor Manager
Craig Nelson
as Charlie
Lisa Parkes
as Presenter
Joe Scott
as Bartender
Charles Woolf
as Mr. Everett
Bob Ross
as Salesman
View All

Series Details

TV Network: CBS
Premiere Date: Sep 19, 1970
Genre: Comedy
Executive Producers: James L. Brooks, Allan Burns
Full Cast
Related News & Interviews

News & Interviews for The Mary Tyler Moore Show

Discussion Forum

Discuss The Mary Tyler Moore Show on our TV talk forum!