The Newsroom - Rotten Tomatoes

The Newsroom (2012 - 2014)

The Newsroom (2012 - 2014)





Critic Consensus: No consensus yet.

Series Info

This drama series revolves around the life of a news anchor named Will McAvoy. The Atlantis Cable News Channel experiences a change in their newsroom when the previous team members decide to leave the show and jump to another one. Now, Will McAvoy has no other option but to work with his new colleagues, which brings unanticipated fruition.

The Newsroom Photos


Critics Consensus: With an energetic new arc and deeper character development, The Newsroom finds itself rejuvenated in its third season -- even if it still occasionally serves as a soapbox for creator Aaron Sorkin.

2014, HBO, 6 episodes

Critics Consensus: Thanks to focused storytelling and a more restrained tone, The Newsroom finds surer footing in its second season, even if it still occasionally succumbs to Aaron Sorkin's most indulgent whims.

2013, HBO, 9 episodes

Critics Consensus: Though it sports good intentions and benefits from moments of stellar dialogue and a talented cast, The Newsroom may feel too preachy, self satisfied, and cynical to appeal to a wide range of viewers.

2012, HBO, 10 episodes


Jeff Daniels
as Will McAvoy
Emily Mortimer
as MacKenzie McHale
Sam Waterston
as Charlie Skinner
Alison Pill
as Margaret Jordan
Olivia Munn
as Sloan Sabbith
Dev Patel
as Neal Sampat
Thomas Sadoski
as Don Keefer
Tom Sadoski
as Don Keefer
Chris Chalk
as Gary Cooper
Adina Porter
as Kendra James
Chris Messina
as Reese Lansing
Jane Fonda
as Leona Lansing
Marcia Gay Harden
as Rebecca Halliday
David Harbour
as Elliot Hirsch
Hamish Linklater
as Jerry Dantana
Margaret Judson
as Tess Westin
Grace Gummer
as Hallie Shea
Hope Davis
as Nina Howard
Terry Crews
as Lonny Church
Wynn Everett
as Tamara Hart
B.J. Novak
as Lucas Pruit
Thomas Matthews
as Martin Stallworth
Trieu Tran
as Joey Phan
John F. Carpenter
as Herb Wilson
Jon Tenney
as Wade Campbell
Brian Howe
as Barry Lasenthal
Riley Voelkel
as Jennifer Adams
David Krumholtz
as Dr. Jack Habib
Charlie Weirauch
as Jake Watson
Paul Schneider
as Brian Brenner
Constance Zimmer
as Taylor Warren
Kat Dennings
as Blair Lansing
Chris Smith
as Randy Lansing
Chris Smith
as Randy Lansing
John F. Carpetner
as Herb Wilson
Jimmi Simpson
as Jack Spaniel
Adam Arkin
as Adam Roth
Sarah Scott Davis
as Terry Smith
Jake McDorman
as Tate Brady
David Cromer
as Moderator
Keith Powell
as Wyatt Geary
Mary McCormack
as Molly Levy
Clea DuVall
as Lilly Hart
Damon Gupton
as Sutton Wall
Philip Baker Hall
as Bryce Delancy
Aya Cash
as Shelly Wexler
Eve Gordon
as Phylis Greer
Ben Koldyke
as Cyrus West
Merle Dandridge
as Maria Guerrero
Kevin Rankin
as Cell mate
Joanna Gleason
as Nancy Skinner
Patrick Fabian
as Tony Hart
Tara Summers
as Bethany
Yuki Matsuzaki
as Daisuke Tanaka
JD Cullum
as Frank Guidry
Chuma Hunter-Gault
as Assistant Director
John Walcutt
as Greg Towne
Saemi Nakamura
as Translator
Ned Vaughn
as Dick Warren
Deborah Strang
as Gloria Hansen
Cornell Womack
as Daniel Mendoza
Paul Wilson
as Dr. Dwayne Sotter
Marshall Bell
as Ross Fernholm
Brian Huskey
as Jake Watson
Megan Park
as Gwen Valley
Norma Maldonado
as Housekeeper
Ricky Mabe
as Steven
Steven Hack
as Dr. Morris
Derek Webster
as Rodger Hutchinson
Emily Wilson
as Shannon Bryer
Jill Remez
as Sherri Stone
Nick Gehlfuss
as Ross Kessler
Stefanie Malouf
as Karaoke #1
Chauncey Jenkins
as Karaoke #2
Jamison Yang
as Martin Wing
Cyndee San Luis
as Paulita Maya
Mia Barron
as Sheryl Bell
Victoria Kelleher
as Charlie's Secretary
Andy Wagner
as Ken Weinraub
Corey Sorenson
as Mike Lyndall
Everette Wallin
as Ted Wexler
Laura Stone
as Danielle
Tehmina Sunny
as Melinda Douglas
Anna Khaja
as Shannon Hammid
Troy Blendell
as Kyle Lohman
Josh Latzer
as Door Guard
Briana Cuoco
as Neal's Girl
Tristin Mays
as Karaoke Girl
Talia Balsam
as Toni Dodd
Rootie J. Boyd
as Ticket Taker
Anna Trebunskaya
as Ticket Agent
Casey Sander
as Judge Cedarman
Ilana Guralnik
as Honeymoon Woman
Michael Ark
as Honeymoon Man
Irina Davidoff
as Cleaning Woman
A Leslie Kies
as Alex Thacker
Margarita Kallas
as Flight Attendant
Adrian Bustamante
as Zachary Webber
David Donah
as Funeral Attendee
Sarah Benoit
as Veteran Journalist
Maho Honda
as Waitress
View All

Discussion Forum

Discuss The Newsroom on our TV talk forum!