The Wire - Rotten Tomatoes

The Wire (2002 - 2008)

The Wire (2002 - 2008)





Critic Consensus: No consensus yet.

Series Info

A complex, impeccably acted crime drama set in Baltimore that follows the thread of a single police investigation, from the perspectives of both law-enforcement officials and the criminals they're pursuing. The Peabody-winning series was created by David Simon (`The Corner'), whose richly layered plotlines focused on the city's illegal drug trade in the first season before expanding in scope for the second to include corruption on the waterfront.

The Wire Videos

The Wire Photos


Critics Consensus: The Wire goes out with a suitably resonant bang in its final season, craftily maneuvering venturesome motifs and a colorful cast of characters to skillfully understated conclusion.

2008, HBO, 10 episodes

Critics Consensus: Realistically flawed characters in harrowing, uncompromising circumstances, along with engrossing storytelling, make The Wire one of TV's top dramas of its time.

2006, HBO, 13 episodes

Critics Consensus: In its third season, The Wire's taut, unflinching examination of Baltimore expands from the criminal underworld to the top of the political machine.

2004, HBO, 12 episodes

Critics Consensus: An ambitious introduction to a new network of characters allows The Wire to expand its focus on societal ills.

2003, HBO, 12 episodes

Critics Consensus: Though it takes its time getting started, The Wire is worth the wait, spinning a connective web of characters and delivering no-holds-barred commentary on some of America's unsettling societal problems.

2002, HBO, 13 episodes


Dominic West
as Det. Jimmy McNulty
Sonja Sohn
as Det. Shakima Greggs
Wendell Pierce
as Det. William `Bunk' Moreland
Clark Johnson
as Gus Haynes
Lance Reddick
as Lt. Cedric Daniels
Clarke Peters
as Det. Lester Freamon
Sam Freed
as James C. Whiting III
Jamie Hector
as Marlo Stanfield
John Doman
as Col. William Rawls
Jay Landsman
as Dennis Mello
Deirdre Lovejoy
as Rhonda Pearlman
Tom McCarthy
as Scott Templeton
Andre Royo
as Bubbles
Seth Gilliam
as Det. Ellis Carver
Domenick Lombardozzi
as Det. Thomas R. `Herc' Hauk
Corey Parker Robinson
as Leander Sydnor
Jim True-Frost
as Det. Roland `Prez' Pryzbylewski
Frankie Faison
as Det. Comm. Ervin Burrell
Ed Norris
as Edward Norris
Delaney Williams
as Sgt. Jay Landsman
Rick Otto
as Kenneth Dozerman
James Ransome
as Ziggy Sobotka
Glynn Turman
as Mayor Clarence Royce
Lawrence Gilliard Jr.
as D'Angelo Barksdale
Chris Bauer
as Frank Sobotka
Gbenga Akinnagbe
as Chris Partlow
Michael Kostroff
as Maurice "Maury" Levy
Al Brown
as Maj. Stanislaus Valcheck
Luray Cooper
as Nathaniel `Nat' Coxson
Felicia Pearson
as Felicia "Snoop" Pearson
William Raymond
as The Greek
Robert F. Chew
as Joe "Proposition Joe" Stewart
Chad Coleman
as Dennis "Cutty" Wise
Amy Ryan
as Off. Beatrice Russell
Method Man
as Melvin "Cheese" Wagstaff
Charley Scalies
as Horseface
Anwan Glover
as Slim Charles
Pablo Schreiber
as Nick Sobotka
Paul Ben-Victor
as Spiros `Vondas' Vondopoulos
Chad L. Coleman
as Dennis `Cutty' Wise
Robert Wisdom
as Maj. Howard `Bunny' Colvin
Aidan Gillen
as Councilman Thomas Carcetti
Idris Elba
as Stringer Bell
Larry Gilliard Jr.
as D'Angelo Barksdale
Wood Harris
as Avon Barksdale
Tristan Wilds
as Michael Lee
Michael Potts
as Brother Mouzone
Julito McCullum
as Namond Brice
Tray Chaney
as Malik "Poot" Carr
Maestro Harrell
as Randy Wagstaff
Reg E. Cathey
as Norman Wilson
Jermaine Crawford
as Duquan `Dukie' Weems
Isiah Whitlock Jr.
as Clayton "Clay" Davis
Fred Strother
as Odell Watkins
Maria Broom
as Marla Daniels
Chris Ashworth
as Sergei "Serge" Malatov
Richard Hidlebird
as Claudell Withers
Susan "Tootsie" Duvall
as Claudell Withers
Dan DeLuca
as David Parenti
Tony D. Head
as Maj. Bobby Reed
Christopher Mann
as Councilman Tony Gray
Michael Hyatt
as Brianna Barksdale
Frederick Strother
as Odell Watkins
Antonio Cordova
as Michael McNulty
Neal Huff
as Michael Steintorf
Shamyl Brown
as Donette
Bill Raymond
as The Greek
Benjamin Busch
as Officer Anthony Colicchio
Callie Thorne
as Elena McNulty
Tootsie Duvall
as Marcia Donnelly
Cleo Reginald Pizana
as Chief of Staff Coleman Parker
Dravon James
as Grace Sampson
Gregory L. Williams
as Det. Crutchfield
Michelle Paress
as Alma Gutierrez
Marlyne N. Afflack
as Naresse Campbell
Marlyne Barrett
as Naresse Campbell
Marlyne Afflack
as Naresse Campbell
Michael Salconi
as Det. Michael Santangelo
Sandi McCree
as De'Londa Brice
Jeffrey Fugitt
as Off. Claude Diggins
David Costabile
as Thomas Klebanow
Brian Anthony Wilson
as Detective Vernon Holley
Nat Benchley
as Det. Augustus `Augie' Polk
Tom Quinn
as Det. Patrick Mahone
Stacie Davis
as Ms. Duquette
Boris McGiver
as Lt. Charles Marimow
Robert F. Colesberry
as Sgt. Ray Cole
Jonnie Louis Brown
as Off. Eddie Walker
Dion Graham
as Rupert Bond
Eric Dellums
as Randall `Doc' Frazier
Micaiah Jones
as Little Man
Doug Olear
as FBI Agent Terrance Fitzhugh
Megan Anderson
as Jen Carcetti
Shamika Cotton
as Michael's mom
Ryan Sands
as Officer Truck Garrick
Ted Feldman
as Double-G
Todd Scofield
as Jeff Price
Bobby Brown
as Off. Bobby Brown
Tom Mardirosian
as Agent Kristos Koutris
Gene Terinoni
as Lt. Asher
Michael Willis
as Andy Krawczyk
Joilet F. Harris
as Officer Caroline Massey
Richard De Angelis
as Capt. Raymond Forester
Richard DeAngelis
as Colonel Ray Foerster
Brandon Young
as Mike Fletcher
Tyrell Baker
as Little Kevin
Bruce Kirkpatrick
as Roger Twigg
Lee E. Cox
as Off. Aaron Carter
Robert Hogan
as Louis Sobotka
Denise Hart
as Miss Anna
Michael Wyatt
as Brianna Barksdale
Eugene Little
as Cutty's Boss
Erik Todd Dellums
as Bryan `Doc' Frazier
Dave Trovato
as Lt. Walter Cantrell
Maria Bloom
as Marla Daniels
R. Emery Bright
as Community Relations Sergeant
Michael S. Willis
as Andy Krawczyk
Tony Cordova
as Michael McNulty
Mayo Best
as Gerard
Sam Reed
as James Whiting
Edward Norris
as Det. Ed Norris
Michael Stone Forrest
as Det. Frank Barlow
Kelley Slagle
as Asst. Medical Examiner
Billy Murphy
as Billy Murphy
Brian Anthony Williams
as Det. Crutchfield
Gil Deeble
as Hucklebuck
Eric Ryan
as Sean McNulty
Richard DeSantis
as Colonel Ray Forester
Lawrence Cameron Steele
as Police Lieutenant
Jerry Walsh
as Mr. Lake
Muna Otaru
as Student in Registrar's Office
Nina Hodoruk
as State's Attorney Kendall Remnick
Keith Moyer
as Junk Man
Chester West
as Shift Lieutenant
David Von Roehm
as Detective at Base
Erik Dellums
as Dr. Randall Frazier
Lloyd Llee Barnett
as Major Marvin Taylor
William Gerad Jones
as Kid Making Drug Deal
Tony Head
as Major Bobby Read
Mike Anderson
as Drug Dealer
Andrew Aninsman
as Aggravated Sergeant
View All

Discussion Forum

Discuss The Wire on our TV talk forum!