We Are Who We Are: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are Who We Are: Season 1 Reviews

Page 2 of 2
Top Critic
September 14, 2020
Nothing about these characters seems fixed and resolved, which is why We Are Who We Are feels like such a startlingly truthful depiction of adolescence, in all its confusing, and often thrilling, fluidity.
September 14, 2020
When the story finally starts to move, what emerges isn't a galvanizing problem so much as a sense that each character, no matter how seemingly clear, will come to surprise us.
September 14, 2020
No ants. That scores points from me, but I also enjoyed the vibes of this show. It doesn't go anywhere, really, only stays right where it is, but still, it's quite a trip to get there.
September 14, 2020
It's an impossibly grand and intimate ending, one well-suited for the eight-episode story we just saw, though whether it's the absolute ending of "We Are Who We Are" remains up in the air.
Full Review | Original Score: A
September 14, 2020
It's a finely detailed, living fresco of libido and intoxication, all these teenagers inhabiting their bodies as if they were just-unwrapped birthday presents.
September 14, 2020
A glorious feast for the senses and a tonic for the soul that aims to keep viewers warm as we plunge into an uncertain fall.
September 14, 2020
Even when the show sags a bit in the story department and becomes dull to watch, it's always interesting to look at.
September 11, 2020
For most of its parts, We Are Who We Are thankfully delivers on what it promises in the beginning: an immersive coming of age drama filled with characters on a journey of finding their own identities from one of the greatest filmmakers of our generation.
September 11, 2020
The series concerns itself with boundaries and the way they blur.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 11, 2020
This story is contemporary, lively, and breathtakingly human, dwelling in the awkwardness of teenage exploration and sensation with an honesty that is at times painful.
September 10, 2020
The vibe coming off the kids who want to be more worldly than they actually are proves alternately alluring, dispiriting and fascinating, which makes We Are Who We Are a tough show to embrace -- and impossible to entirely dismiss.
September 8, 2020
It's so visceral as to become unsettling -- but what else is being a teenager like, if not immersive, visceral and unsettling?
September 2, 2020
Despite some flat characters, Guadagnino exuberantly spotlights his cast of up-and-comers, especially Corey Knight.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 2, 2020
An aura of pleasant aimlessness suffuses the production, its evocation of eternal summer mirroring the teens' approach to their here-but-not-really-ness. But of course the scripts are meticulously crafted.
September 1, 2020
Few transplants from the big screen to the small have as keen an eye, or ear, as Guadagnino, so the voyeuristic nature of the storytelling feels inviting rather than indulgent. (Mostly).
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 15, 2020
Showrunning demands a different skill set than filmmaking, and not all of Guadagnino's masterful abilities come to the fore, here.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 14, 2020
Like Euphoria, it wants to be shocking but soon grows monotonous, and it begs the question: Do military families not care or notice where their kids spend the night?
September 12, 2020
A coming-of-age story that will leave some viewers feeling queasy rather than exhilarated.
September 1, 2020
The difference between you as a teenager and the kids in this series, is that you likely experienced emotions beyond ennui, anger, and horniness.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Page 2 of 2