We Are Who We Are: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are Who We Are: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 26, 2021
We Are Who We Are shines... in the contemplative and digressive moments in which the series takes a deep breath. [Full review in Spanish]
July 7, 2021
Anchored by compelling performances from Grazer, Seamón and Sevigny, who adds gravitas even when her character is peripheral, this is a fascinating and confounding watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 25, 2021
We Are Who We Are is a sensuous mood piece that viscerally evokes summer in sweat, seawater and sunbeams.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 9, 2021
We Are Who We Are is a meditation on youth, less as a time in one's life than as a mindset one inhabits-the capacity to be brave, careless, and skeptical in ways that often go wrong...
February 8, 2021
The first episode is very different to the second one, which is very different to the third and fourth. Everything you think you've settled on about the character's story it drags you in a different direction.
December 14, 2020
It's gorgeous in many ways, infuriating in more, chiefly how sunnily slow it is. Yes, it's lovely. Yes, people should have the right to love who they will. Now get on with it.
December 1, 2020
If Normal People reminded older viewers of their own first love, We Are Who We Are might remind them of their own sexual awakening. But then, was it anything as languid and magic-realist as this? Unlikely.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 23, 2020
It takes a daring director to ask us to not just sympathise but empathise with a boy like Fraser. And Guadagnino is certainly that.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 4, 2020
We Are Who We Are is a gorgeous and achingly compassionate look at the struggles of finding yourself.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
November 4, 2020
Something feels perpetually missing from We Are Who We Are, and while longing and searching are big themes for the series, it makes for a frustrating overall viewing experience, the depth of these characters often obscured by hasty storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 6, 2020
Guadagnino's sumptuous tastes fold naturally into the obsessions of Fraser...Luca's series is set on a military base that is charmed, foreboding, and thrumming...
September 25, 2020
We Are Who We Are is, possibly, the author's artistic peak. [Full review in Spanish]
September 22, 2020
Luca Guadagnino's queer-themed We Are Who We Are offers elegant storytelling and tart, unforced humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 17, 2020
The more time you spend with angsty teens Fraser and Caitlin, the more their explorations of love and identity will make your heart ache. If you're a fan of Guadagnino's past work, it's worth going with the auteur on his latest trip to Italy.
September 16, 2020
Guadagnino's atmosphere and mood are transcendental, because wanting freedom and feeling desire have no national boundaries.
September 15, 2020
The first episode of We Are Who We Are takes its time to get to where it wants to go, but the ride is pleasant because we're so intrigued by Fraser and his various relationships.
September 15, 2020
Jack Dylan Grazer brings a level of vulnerability to Fraser, who is the fish out of water in this tale, and gives us a riveting performance from the jump.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.25/5
September 14, 2020
The show works best when following the spontaneous actions of its subjects, especially in the moments when they quite literally have nothing else to do.
September 14, 2020
Grazer plays Fraser as an animal trapped with all eyes on him
September 14, 2020
It's not a traditional television show. It's poetry. It's a photograph of a moment in time. Every episode is an invitation to just sit within those verses and pictures and appreciate them, without judgment.
Page 1 of 2