We Are Who We Are: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are Who We Are: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 15, 2020
Showrunning demands a different skill set than filmmaking, and not all of Guadagnino's masterful abilities come to the fore, here.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 12, 2020
A coming-of-age story that will leave some viewers feeling queasy rather than exhilarated.
September 1, 2020
The difference between you as a teenager and the kids in this series, is that you likely experienced emotions beyond ennui, anger, and horniness.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 14, 2020
Like Euphoria, it wants to be shocking but soon grows monotonous, and it begs the question: Do military families not care or notice where their kids spend the night?
June 25, 2021
We Are Who We Are is a sensuous mood piece that viscerally evokes summer in sweat, seawater and sunbeams.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 4, 2020
We Are Who We Are is a gorgeous and achingly compassionate look at the struggles of finding yourself.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
September 14, 2020
Even when the show sags a bit in the story department and becomes dull to watch, it's always interesting to look at.
September 11, 2020
For most of its parts, We Are Who We Are thankfully delivers on what it promises in the beginning: an immersive coming of age drama filled with characters on a journey of finding their own identities from one of the greatest filmmakers of our generation.
October 26, 2021
We Are Who We Are shines... in the contemplative and digressive moments in which the series takes a deep breath. [Full review in Spanish]
September 14, 2020
Grazer plays Fraser as an animal trapped with all eyes on him
September 11, 2020
The series concerns itself with boundaries and the way they blur.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 9, 2021
We Are Who We Are is a meditation on youth, less as a time in one's life than as a mindset one inhabits-the capacity to be brave, careless, and skeptical in ways that often go wrong...
September 16, 2020
Guadagnino's atmosphere and mood are transcendental, because wanting freedom and feeling desire have no national boundaries.
September 14, 2020
No ants. That scores points from me, but I also enjoyed the vibes of this show. It doesn't go anywhere, really, only stays right where it is, but still, it's quite a trip to get there.
September 25, 2020
We Are Who We Are is, possibly, the author's artistic peak. [Full review in Spanish]
February 8, 2021
The first episode is very different to the second one, which is very different to the third and fourth. Everything you think you've settled on about the character's story it drags you in a different direction.
November 23, 2020
It takes a daring director to ask us to not just sympathise but empathise with a boy like Fraser. And Guadagnino is certainly that.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 1, 2020
If Normal People reminded older viewers of their own first love, We Are Who We Are might remind them of their own sexual awakening. But then, was it anything as languid and magic-realist as this? Unlikely.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 14, 2020
The show works best when following the spontaneous actions of its subjects, especially in the moments when they quite literally have nothing else to do.
September 22, 2020
Luca Guadagnino's queer-themed We Are Who We Are offers elegant storytelling and tart, unforced humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2